Meet Our HHAA Board

Steve Platt

President, Interim Secretary

Steve has an undergraduate degree in Environmental Studies and Anthropology from the University of Vermont and an MA in Anthropology from the University of Montana. He spent 25 years as the archaeologist for Montana Department of Transportation. Steve has been involved in Montana conservation since the late 1980s and has been a member of HHAA since its inception. He and his wife Alicia enthusiastically enjoy the many public land outdoor opportunities that Montana has to offer.

Gary Ingman

Vice President, Treasurer

Gary Ingman is a retired hydrologist/water resources scientist with 25 years experience with Montana natural resource agencies and 17 years of work in the private sector. He was bureau chief with Montana DEQ responsible for statewide water and air quality monitoring, assessment and reporting, and was the water resources group leader for a regional science and engineering company. Gary is a third generation Helenan who has a passion for our local wildlands. He is a founding board member of HHAA.

Rod Bullis

Board Member

Rod Bullis is a life-long hunter conservationist. As a professional Forester in Montana for 50 years, Rod has diligently fought for habitat enhancement and fair chase hunting. Now in his 70’s, he believes “It’s all about giving back to wildlife and the land that has given so much to me.”

Gayle Joslin

Board Member

Gayleis a Helena native, avid hunter, and public lands advocate. She is a founding board member of Helena Hunters and Anglers Association and Orion the Hunters Institute.  Gayle retired after 32 years as a wildlife biologist for the State of Montana where she worked on projects ranging from trapping and tracking grizzly bears to mountain goat response to energy development and hard rock mining.  In addition, through the Montana Chapter of The Wildlife Society, she organized the compilation of Effects of Recreation on Rocky Mountain Wildlife – A Review for Montana. For that she and her associates received the Wildlife Management Institute’s Touchstone Award “recognizing  persons in natural resource management whose ingenuity and initiative have resulted in a program or product that has notably advanced sound resource management and conservation in North America.” The Cinnabar Foundation Sargent Stewardship Award was presented to her for “outstanding environmental achievement” and the Montana Wildlife Federation awarded Gayle the Fred Carver Sportsman of the Year Award.

Charlie McCarthy

Board Member

Charlie is a lifetime Montana resident. Born and raised in Anaconda. He moved to the Helena area in 1970. While out in God’s country enjoying its fish and wildlife he is constantly reminded to thank his Creator. He retired from 35 years with the State in 1999 and then served for 13 years as an advocate for children and adults with mental illnesses at Montana’s private and state-run treatment programs. Charlie encourages all hunters and fishers to “give back” by joining groups and serving on their various Boards of Directors. He says, “This service will fill your life with wonderful people and lifelong friends.”

Stephen McEvoy

Board Member

Steve grew up south of Helena, attended Helena High School, and in 1992 graduated from Montana State University with an Earth Sciences undergraduate degree.  He worked various environmental consulting positions in Montana, before taking work in Alaska prospecting for minerals while employed with WGM Inc. In 1997 he returned to MSU to study engineering, and graduated fall 2000 with an undergraduate degree in Civil Engineering. After working for the DNRC Water Resource Office in Lewistown, he has worked as a civil engineer in Helena since 2005. 

He believes the opportunity to experience Montana’s wildlands by current and future generations must be ensured through conservation and stewardship

Bill Orsello

Board Member

Bill has been a member of Helena Hunters and Anglers since its inception and has represented HHAA and central Montana on the Montana Fish and Wildlife Conservation Trust since it was created in 1998. Bill preferred his bio to simply state, “Rode hard and put away wet.”

Doug Powell

Board Member

Passion is protecting public wildlands for future generations to enjoy.  Especially appreciating what our past conservationist leaders have done to hang on to the landscape we now enjoy for hunting and fishing.

With a background as a wildlife researcher and fire/wildlife pilot for both the state of Montana and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Doug has worked with some of the great conservationists across the country, who have preserved our landscapes and the wildlife habitats they hold.  Throughout the years, he has had the opportunity to listen, and discuss different points of view with highly-experienced wildlife biologists and fire aviation air operation specialists on the effects of management decisions upon our public wildlands.

Education; BA in Environmental Studies/Biology from Carroll College 2010

Past titles;  Wildlife Researcher, District Manager for National Wildlife Refuges in Central Montana, Regional Aviation Manager for US Fish and Wildlife Service.   Chair for the Rocky Mountain Coordination Center Aviation Committee. Currently aircraft pilot for Montana DNRC Fire Aviation Unit.

Jim Crichton

Board Member

Jim was born and raised in Deer Lodge Montana, where he took up elk hunting at an early age. He graduated from the University of Montana with a degree in zoology/pre-med. He was  accepted into the zoology graduate program and spent the summer after graduation at the Lubrecht Forest in a project to characterize the small mammal population. He then attended medical school and graduate training before starting medical practice in Helena from which he retired a few years ago.

Jim has always had an interest in habitat and wildlife management and served for  dozen years on the Elkhorn Working Group until 2018.